The 2014 Foundation Golf Challenge


The 2014 Golf Challenge sponsored by M-Tech Systems

The annual golf day was once again well supported with teams made up of OEs, staff, parents, local businesses and other College supporters and friends. Thursday 3 July was a beautiful sunny day at the Royal Eastbourne Golf Club. After registration, coffee and bacon rolls the teams set off to their tees for the shotgun start at 12.30pm.

The event was sponsored by M-Tech Systems, the local IT company owned by Martin Lulham (Powell 1991–96) and goody bags for each player were provided by NatWest. With all teams back in the club house in the afternoon, the scores were tallied, the group photo was taken, and drinks were ordered from the bar. We then sat down for the prize giving followed by the evening dinner.

The golf challenge helps raise funds for the Peter Bibby Award, and it was fitting that the winning team should include Ben Twine (Craig, Year 11), the current Peter Bibby Award recipient. The prizes were presented by Mirren Mace, Peter’s daughter, pictured below (centre) with the winning team: David Twine, Steven Twine, Stuart Twine and Ben Twine.

The evening concluded with the charity auction, with the star lot once again being two tickets for the Wimbledon Men’s Final, with seats in front of the Royal Box. The final total of money raised was in excess of £16,750 and our thanks go to all those who helped make the day such a success. 

Donors and sponsors

Our thanks go to the many OEs, parents, businesses and others who supported the 2014 golf day with sponsorship and donations of prizes and auction items.

Beach Deck Restaurant
David Berg
Dan Burstow
Club Class Chauffeurs
Vinny Codrington
LJ Edwards
Angus Frazer
Michael Gietzen
David Hallam
Haulaway Skips
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Holroyd Howe
Identity Online
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
Kiley's Carpets
Martin Lulham
Mirren Mace
Manor Group
Miller Bourne
Iain Morris
M-Tech Systems
R&B Hotels
Nick Richards
Peter Simson
Anthea Stewart
David Stewart
Twine Family
HT Whites
James Young

© 2014–2022 Eastbourne College